The Maryland State Police in August, 2019, decided to issue concealed carry permits to business owners without restrictions on when they can carry a concealed handgun. Applicants will still need to complete the required background check, 16 hours of firearms training, and pass a qualifying course of fire.
Non-business owners may still be able to get a concealed carry permit but they will need to provide a good and substantial reason for having one. If that reason is accepted by the state police then it will appear as a restriction on the back of the permit that limits when and where they can carry a concealed handgun.
Examples of good and substantial reasons include: a property owner who collects rents, a business owner who makes bank deposits, a medical doctor who carries a prescription pad, a person whose life has been threatened and documented with a police report, and a special operations military personnel whose personal records were part of the data-breach at the Federal Office of Personnel Management. These are only examples of some of the good and substantial reasons that have been approved.
We are helping as many people as we can to get their permits, and we have a long track record of doing that.
How Do You Get One?
Spartan Firearms Training Group (SFTG) provides 16 hours of instruction to satisfy the Maryland State Police training requirement for getting a concealed carry permit.
The training delivers information on the following topics:
- State firearm law,
- Home firearm safety,
- Handgun mechanisms and operation, and
- Demonstrate gun safety and proficiency with a minimum score of 70% accuracy.
SFTG’s training fee is $350 for two days of training.
Additional Fees (not payable to SFTG)
- $50 fingerprinting fee paid to Essential Support Services (ESS) if you want them to do the fingerprinting on the day of the training. Alternatively, you can have your fingerprints taken at any other provider.
- Two (2) color passport type photographs depicting the applicant from the shoulders up. The photographs must be taken within the last 30 days and should be 2 inches by 2 inches. Essential Support Services can also take these photos for you for a small fee.
- Original/Initial – $75.00 – payable to the Maryland State Police
- Renewal – $50.00 – Fingerprints No Longer Required
- Duplicate/Modification – Total $10.00
- Active/Retired Law Enforcement Officers – $0.00
- $20.00 if you want ESS to process all your paperwork and payment to the Maryland State Police. ESS can handle everything for you on the day of the training (This is an added-value service that ESS offers our customers).
The application for a wear and carry permit and additional information are found on-line at http://mdsp.maryland.gov/Organization/Documents/WearandCarryApplicatio30.pdf
Wear and Carry Permits may be issued to any adult (18 years of age or over) who meets the following criteria:
- An applicant between 18 and 21 years of age may only be issued a wear and carry permit to possess a regulated firearm required for employment. – P.S. 5-133 (d)(2)(v)
- Has not been convicted of a felony or a misdemeanor for which a sentence of imprisonment for more than one year has been imposed; or convicted of a criminal offense for which you could have been sentenced to more than 2 years incarceration.
- Has not been convicted of a crime involving the possession, use, or distribution of a controlled dangerous substance.
- Is not presently an alcoholic, addict, or habitual user of a controlled dangerous substance unless under legitimate medical direction.
- Based on an investigation, has not exhibited a propensity for violence or instability that may reasonably render the person’s possession of a handgun a danger to the person or others.
- Has a good and substantial reason to wear, carry, or transport a handgun, such as finding that the permit is necessary as a reasonable precaution against danger.
- As of October 1, 2013, has successfully completed the Maryland State Police approved firearms training course within 2 year prior to submitting the original or renewal application.
Active, Former, and Retired Maryland Law Enforcement Officers
Active, Former, and Retired Maryland Law Enforcement Officers and retired or former federal law enforcement officers, who permanently reside in Maryland and who were assigned in Maryland during their employment- as long as the application is submitted within one year from the date the officer either retired in good standing or separated in good standing and/or the officer has a valid LEOSA permit/certification/identification, the Handgun Permit Unit may accept that the applicant has a good and substantial reason to wear, carry, or transport a handgun as a reasonable precaution against the apprehended danger originating from his/her law enforcement position.
For retired or former federal law enforcement officers and retired or former out-of-state law enforcement officers, who permanently reside in Maryland but were not assigned in Maryland during their employment, LEOSA is a nationally recognized credential and a Maryland Wear and Carry Permit is not required or necessary. The Maryland Police & Correctional Training Commission (MPCTC) may serve as the certifying agency for LEOSA if eligible and the application and guidelines can be found on the MPCTC website at mdle.net. Should you desire a Maryland Wear and Carry Permit you will be required to provide a good and substantial reason to wear, carry, or transport a handgun as a reasonable precaution against apprehended danger.
As of October 1, 2013, all new and renewal applicants must successfully complete required firearms training, within 2 years, prior to submitting the application.
Information about another Maryland handgun requirement to purchase a handgun is found at https://www.spartanfirearmstraininggroup.com/maryland-handgun-qualification-license/